Search on
News Title
News Details
Railways constitute expert committee on innovative funding
264 times viewed.
Monday, 27 Jul 2009

According to a press lease, the ministry of Railways has constituted an expert committee for developing innovative funding techniques through PPP instruments.

The committee, under the chairmanship of Dr Amit Mitra secretary general of FICCI has been asked to start offering recommendations within fifteen days of its first meeting. It will identify economically unviable, but socially desirable projects for implementing them through innovative funding. It will also develop vision 2020 for the railways.

The expert committee has been specifically asked to consider developing business models in respect of the Delhi to Mumbai industrial corridor, utilizing railway land bank along side the Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor for starting projects in rolling stock production, assembly facilities and coach rehabilitation at Dankuni-Majerhat-Nowpara private freight terminals and multi modal logistics parks, private public participation in setting up the new coach factory at Kanchrappara to Halisahar Railway complex and setting up of a 1000 MW power plant at Adra in collaboration with the NTPC. The committee will consider developing world class stations and multi functional complexes. It will also review the status of progress of ongoing activities undertaken by the Railways.

The members of the committee are as follows

1. Mr Debabrata Bandyopadhyay, IAS (Retd) former Rural Development secretary

2. Mr Udayan Bose chairman and founding partner, Tamara Capital Partners

3. Mr Saurabh Srivastava chairman of Indian Venture Capital Fund and Co founder of NASSCOM

4. Mr S Kulkarni

5. Mr SS Khurana chairman of Railway Board.

6. Mr Shriprakash , member Traffic Railway Board

7. Mr Rakesh Chopra member of Engineering, Railway Board

8. Ms Soumya Raghavan financial commissioner of Railways

9. Mr Abdul Kalam former CMD of Eastern Coalfields

10. Mr VK Agnihotri former member of Railway Board.

11. Mr S Ramanathan former GM of Eastern Railway

12. AIRF Representative

13. NFIR Representative

14. Mr VK Gupta adviser (land and amenities) of Railway Board

15. Mr Mahesh V Reddy senior director, FICCI member secretary

Ms Mamata Banerjee minister of Railways had earlier announced the formation of this committee in her Railway Budget speech in the Parliament.

This is alternative content.

More Indian News